preload preload preload preload

In Pharaoh’s Army: Memories of the Lost War Tobias Wolff San Val


31st January 2012 History Books 0 Comments

In This Boy’s Life Tobias Wolf created an unforgettable memoir of an American childhood. Now he gives us a precisely and sometimes pitilessly remembered account of his young manhood – a young manhood that become entangled in the tragic adventure that was Vietnam. Mordantly funny, searingly honest, In Pharoah’s Army is a war memoir in the tradition of George Orwell and Michael Herr. –This text refers to the Paperback edition.

As a Vietnamese-speaking U.S. Army adviser to a Vietnamese division in the Mekong Delta, First Lieutenant Wolff began his 1967-1968 tour of duty convinced of America’s noble purposes; yet this intense, precisely observed memoir records his sense of futility and growing disillusionment with the war. His searing recollections underscore the inhumanity on both sides and the paternalistic, condescending attitude of American military personnel toward the Vietnamese people. Wolff (This Boy’s Life), who teaches literature at Syracuse University, is a remarkably gifted writer, and in this war memoir he charts with great candor his evolution as a human being and a writer. Through flashbacks we learn of his love-hate relationship with his father, an airplane designer turned forger and convict, and of his broken engagement to a wildly moody, emotionally troubled Russian aristocrat in Washington, D.C. Replaced in Vietnam by a more gung-ho, macho adviser, Wolff left the service and stayed in the San Francisco Bay area, where he was discharged. Then he discovered himself, and stopped feeling adrift, during four years studying English literature at Oxford University.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. –This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Whether he is evoking the blind carnage of the Tet offensive, the theatrics of his fellow Americans, or the unraveling of his own illusions, Wolff brings to this work the same uncanny eye for detail, pitiless candor and mordant wit that made This Boy’s Life a modern classic.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

In This Boy’s Life Tobias Wolf created an unforgettable memoir of an American childhood. Now he gives us a precisely and sometimes pitilessly remembered account of his young manhood – a young manhood that become entangled in the tragic adventure that was Vietnam. Mordantly funny, searingly honest, In Pharoah’s Army is a war memoir in the tradition of George Orwell and Michael Herr. –This text refers to the Paperback edition.

In Pharaoh’s Army: Memories of the Lost War

In The Garden Of The North American Martyrs: Stories

Tobias Wolff lives in Northern California and teaches at Stanford University. Author of the recent novel Old School, he has received the Rea Award for excellence in the short story, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and the PEN/Faulkner Award. His collection of short stories, In the Garden of the North American Martyrs, is also available from Ecco.

Among the characters you’ll find in this collection of twelve stories by Tobias Wolff are a teenage boy who tells morbid lies about his home life, a timid professor who, in the first genuine outburst of her life, pours out her opinions in spite of a protesting audience, a prudish loner who gives an obnoxious hitchhiker a ride, and an elderly couple on a golden anniversary cruise who endure the offensive conviviality of the ship’s social director.

Fondly yet sharply drawn, Wolff’s characters stumble over each other in their baffled yet resolute search for the “right path.”

In The Garden Of The North American Martyrs: Stories










  • Leave a Reply

    * Required
    ** Your Email is never shared