preload preload preload preload

From The Heart Of The Crow Country: The Crow Indians’ Own Stories Joseph Medicine Crow Crown 1 edition


31st January 2012 History Books 6 Comments
"Homespun slices of Crow archaeology, mythic history, and living memory . . . Always rewarding."Ethnohistory (Ethnohistory ) --This text refers to the Paperback edition. A highly respected elder of the Crow tribe draws on stories he has collected throughout his lifetime to offer a unique glimpse of American Indian culture as Indians themselves know it. "No one who hungers to understand what America lost when it destroyed the Plains Indian cultures should miss this exciting little book."--Tony Hillerman.From the Trade Paperback edition. A highly respected elder of the Crow tribe ...
Read More »

Final Voyage: A Story of Arctic Disaster and One Fateful Whaling Season Putnam Adult 1St Edition edition Peter Nichols


31st January 2012 History Books 36 Comments
"Peter Nichols has crafted a terrifyingly relevant historical narrative...A terrific read." -Nathaniel Philbrick, author of In The Heart of the Sea In 1871, America's last fleet of whaling ships was destroyed in an arctic ice storm. Miraculously, 1,218 men, women and children survived, but the disaster was catastrophic at home. Oil and Ice is the story of one fateful whaling season that illuminates the unprecedented rise and devastating fall of America's first oil economy, and the fate of today's petroleum industry. In the summer of 1871, thirty-two whaling ships, carrying ...
Read More »

Scots Irish in Pennsylvania & Kentucky Billy Kennedy AmbassadorEmerald International


31st January 2012 History Books 4 Comments
Billy Kennedy, a native of County Armagh, Northern Ireland, has been a leading journalist for the past thirty years, occupying the roles of news editor, assistant editor, and leader writer for the Belfast News Letter, the primary morning newspaper in Northern Ireland. He is now a freelance journalist, author, and public relations consultant, combining news, features, business, and sports coverage in Northern Ireland for the national press and media outlets in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. On his regular visits to the United States, he lectures on the subject of the ...
Read More »

Japan at War: An Oral History Asia Japan Haruko Taya Cook New Press The


31st January 2012 History Books 18 Comments
One of the essential books about World War II. -- Philadelphia InquirerOral history of a compellingly high order. -- Kirkus Reviews Haruko Taya Cook is Fordham Marymount Professor Emerita in history at Marymount College of Fordham University. Theodore F. Cook is a professor of Japanese history at William Paterson University. They live in New York City. A timely fifteenth Anniversary reissue of a "deeply moving book" (Studs Terkel) that portrays the Japanese experience during World War II in all its complexity.Following the release of Clint Eastwood's epic film Letters from ...
Read More »

Hate Crimes Revisited: America’s War On Those Who Are Different Basic Books Jack Levin


31st January 2012 History Books 17 Comments
Hate crimes-violence aimed at individuals because they are members of a particular group-were once considered the rare illegal actions of a small but vocal assortment of extremists who thrived on hating minorities. No more. In this new book by two of the country's leading experts on hate crimes, published ten years after their classic book of the same name, these most-recognized authorities and media commentators reinterpret this scourge of our generation-hatred based on race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, gender, and even citizenship. In the aftermath of the worst act of terrorism ...
Read More »

The Russians Hedrick Smith Ballantine Books Revised edition


31st January 2012 History Books 39 Comments
Hedrick Smith has done what we all wish we could do: he has gone to Russia and spoken to the people. Over steaming samovars, in cramped flats, and on dirt-floors, he has spoken to peasants and bureaucrats, artists and officials. He has studied their customs and their governments and shares his fascinating insights and fresh perspectives with us. Hedrick Smith has done what we all wish we could do: he has gone to Russia and spoken to the people. Over steaming samovars, in cramped flats, and on dirt-floors, he has spoken to peasants and bureaucrats, artists and officials. He has studied ...
Read More »

In Pharaoh’s Army: Memories of the Lost War Tobias Wolff San Val


31st January 2012 History Books 35 Comments
In This Boy's Life Tobias Wolf created an unforgettable memoir of an American childhood. Now he gives us a precisely and sometimes pitilessly remembered account of his young manhood - a young manhood that become entangled in the tragic adventure that was Vietnam. Mordantly funny, searingly honest, In Pharoah's Army is a war memoir in the tradition of George Orwell and Michael Herr. --This text refers to the Paperback edition. As a Vietnamese-speaking U.S. Army adviser to a Vietnamese division in the Mekong Delta, First Lieutenant Wolff began his 1967-1968 tour of duty ...
Read More »

The Politics of Medicaid Administration & Medicine Economics Medicaid & Medicare Laura Katz Olson Columbia University Press


31st January 2012 History Books 11 Comments
Essential reading for serious students of political science and health politics. (Library Journal ) Wow! A book that does exactly what its title promisescaptures the politics of the policy of Medicaid. No other work does so as comprehensively and with such sharp insight and purpose. Laura Katz Olson weaves every detail into an overarching struggle between those who would strengthen Medicaid's ability to provide health care for the poor and those who would weaken it. The Politics of Medicaid will be the bible for political scientists and policy analysts alike. (Deborah Stone, ...
Read More »

Cyprus: A Modern History I. B. Tauris Revised edition William Mallinson


31st January 2012 History Books 4 Comments
In the troubled island of Cyprus, the national interests and rivalries of Greece and Turkey still collide, the population remains divided between the Greek and Turkish communities and the country is still a cat's paw of outside powers--especially the USA and the now resurgent Russia--as it has been since the acquisition of the island by Britain in 1878. These are problems that have been brought into sharp focus by Cyprus's entry into the European Union. William Mallinsons book is a fast-moving and incisive narrative history which portrays Cyprus as a continuing source of international tension ...
Read More »

The Enlightenment Dorinda Outram Cambridge University Press 2 edition


31st January 2012 History Books 7 Comments
'... this is a wide-ranging and useful survey of the field.' Norman Hampson, Modern and Contemporary France Debate over the meaning of 'Enlightenment' began in the eighteenth century and has continued unabated until our own times. This period saw the opening of arguments on the nature of man, truth, on the place of God, and the international circulation of ideas, people and gold. The second edition of this unique textbook offers a fresh introduction, a new chapter on slavery, and new material on the Enlightenment as a global phenomenon. The book will prove invaluable reading to ...
Read More »